Home > Psoriatic Arthritis > Why singing helps

Why singing helps

I wondered if there were others in that cathedral with rheumatoid arthritis. If there were people there with cancer, with MS, recovering from surgery, grieving loss. How many of us were in pain? But our harmonies lifted above all of that; they rose, with the great ringing of the organ, into the rafters and into the night. Beyond all of us.

http://pensandneedlesblog.blogspot.com/2009/11/singing-beyond-our-bodies.html

I’ve sung in choirs for years, although I don’t have either the time/energy right now. When I sang I never really thought about others, I never thought if other people were in pain (or not). I know I feel less pain when I sing, probably because I’m concentrating on something else but concerts and rehearsals do involve a lot of standing (usually in cold, draughty buildings).

I love to sing because it is such a physical act; but I also love to sing because the music I produce is incorporeal. It thrusts out and away from these sore, stiff bones, this heart that doesn’t know quite what to do with itself.

Music heals. I guess.  If not physically then mentally, it gives you a break. Something else to concentrate on. Hopefully I’ll be able to do some singing this Christmas. Is singing worship? For me personally?  It depends.  Occasionally it is, usually it isn’t. It’s just something I enjoy doing.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

