Home > Psoriatic Arthritis > Feeling Better?

Feeling Better?

I haven’t posted much this month, partly because it’s December and I’ve been busy and partly because I am feeling better.  Yes, that’s right, I don’t want to jinx it by writing it down but I am feeling better.

The bone-crushing fatigue I’ve had for almost all of 2009 seems to have lifted, I’m no longer struggling to sit and stand by lunchtime. I can get my work done in the evening and manage housework at the weekend.

None of my joints are too bad either, my ankle still isn’t great and the snow and ice have made it clear how much range of motion I’ve lost in that joint since it started flaring up several months ago, but it’s not screaming agony to walk down the stairs and that has to be a good thing.

The other reason I think I’m feeling so well is I’ve just had an appointment with the rheumatologist, and I always seem to make a miraculous recovery about 2 days before I visit the doctors. Anyway, I trudged through the snow, for a 5 minute consultation that consisted of “yes, you seem to be doing better, come back in 6 months”.  6 months is an improvement on 3 months, lets hope none of my other joints flare up in the mean time.

I think that is the trouble with this disease, it’s so unpredictable. I am constantly waiting for another joint to flare up and give me trouble and based on past experience that will happen again.  I also know that the fatigue could flare up again any time and if anything, I find that thought more depressing.  Fatigue screws up your life, I don’t care what anyone says about pacing and finding your limits.  At the end of the day, if you can’t do what you want to do (and often HAVE) to do in a day then it’s frustrating and depressing however much you “pace” or “goal set”.  When that fatigue goes on for months it’s very hard to keep up any semblance of a normal life.

Anyway, enough moaning. Here’s hoping 2010 is a good one.

  1. February 1, 2010 at 5:17 am

    I have just discovered your blog and I find it wonderful. I am a sufferer of Psoriatic Arthritis also and have been searching for someone to communicate with. I have my own blog that I just started about my disease. I invite you to come and have a look! I really love some of your blogs, especially the one with the poems and the humorous ones. I am pretty stuck here, ie. not being able to work, run, or goof around like I used to, so blogging is very nice to have. I have two daughters 20 and 14 and a wonderful husband who has stuck with me throughout this ordeal. I am thankful there are people like you out there letting “normal” people see what it is like to be us! God Bless you!

    • arthriticquaker
      May 15, 2010 at 8:57 pm

      Sorry, I’ve been neglecting this blog for sometime. I hope you are able to find at least some relief. The hardest thing for me is that no one seems to have heard of psoriatic arthritis so they assume I’m just making it up, or making “normal” arthritis out to be something worse than it is. If only they knew!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

